Dear Papa Tex

It’s 2014 and I am now 51 years old. You would be 80 now I believe and still treat me like I am 12.

But no matter. I feel good everytime I hear those “this is what you should be doing son” litanies.

It provides perspective to all my plans. I guess 80 years of experience can teach a lot to a 50 year old like me. It paints a clearer path to my eventual arrival at your place now.

Forgive my sentimentality. It just came out of nowhere.

No, there is nothing that happened and yes you are in good health though not in the peak of it.

I just had this burden in my heart to say these words before time slips by and I regret never having said these to you.

I regret never having said it to Mama before she passed away. I regret never knowing if I ever made her proud at anytime in her life.

Time has this character that allows wisdom but most times too late to act on it, so I am teaching myself to act on the wisdom now before the time is gone.

So thank you for being my father. Thank you for the unconditional love you have given me all my life. Thank you for my life. Thank you for my career, my name, my reputation and the character you instilled in me.

I am not perfect and I continue to work on myself holding on to the Word of our Lord that in the end all will be well, and if it is not well then it is not yet the end.

Be well my father and know that despite all, your children love, respect and appreciate everything you have sacrificed for us.

And that even if we worked hard to get where we are, it was you and Mama who pushed us there and all credit goes to you after our Lord God.

God bless you Papa. Our love goes to you everyday.

With all our love,

Your craziest eldest son

Leave a Reply

